The Society by Jodie Andrefski

TitleThe Society

Author: Jodie Andrefski

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Date of Publication:May 3rd , 2009

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Pages:Kindle Edition, 304 pages

Summary:Welcome to Trinity Academy’s best-kept secret.

The Society.

You’ve been handpicked by the elite of the elite to become a member. But first you’ll have to prove your worth by making it through Hell Week.

Do you have what it takes?

It’s time to find out.

Samantha Evans knows she’d never get an invite to rush the Society—not after her dad went to jail for insider trading. But after years of relentless bullying at the hands of the Society’s queen bee, Jessica, she’s ready to take down Jessica and the Society one peg at a time from the inside out.

All it’ll take is a bit of computer hacking, a few fake invitations, some eager rushees…and Sam will get her revenge.

Let the games begin.


The Society is not a book that captivates you from the first page. In order to enjoy the book, you have to get past the first few chapters. The story centers around Sam and her plan to get revenge on her ex-best friend, Jessica.

Honestly, the summary really drew me into the story. The idea of the book was great and the plot could have been strong if the romance was not as dominant in the plot. It was hard to focus on the actual storyline when the main character could not stop talking about Ransom and Jeremy. I did enjoy Jeremy and Sam’s relationship but I would rather read more about her revenge.

Sam was too harsh when punishing Jessica. I understand that Jessica was a bully but her plan was destructive to a lot of people. A lot of casualties could have been seriously affected by her plan. She was whiny and self-centered.

The Society didn’t focus on the actual society as much as I had hoped. The bullying and other serious topics help overshadowed. I wanted to read more about the society and her problems with Jessica. Maybe if I was informed of more problems that Sam faced, I would understand her motives. The plot felt very rushed at times, too.

I did enjoy the relationship she shared with the characters. I felt that the author added a lot of life into the relationships. I thought that the writing style was good. It has a nice flow to it for most of the story.

Overall, it was an okay read. I wouldn’t recommend it greatly but it was not bad.

Leave a comment